Center for Geometrically Engineered Cellular Systems (GEC)


GEC is a center of excellence funded by the Novo Nordisk Foundation with 60M DKK (9,5M $) for the period 2018 to 2024. The project is an international collaboration between three universities and the laboratories of: 

  • Dimitrios Stamou, University of Copenhagen, Department of Chemistry
  • Jay Groves, University of California Berkeley, Department of Chemistry
  • Orion Weiner, University of California San Francisco, Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Staff at GEC

Name Role Email University
Dimitrios Stamou Faculty University of Copenhagen, Department of Chemistry
Jay Groves Faculty University of California Berkeley, Department of Chemistry
Orion Weiner Faculty University of California San Francisco, Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics
Shalini Low-Nam Postdoc slownam@gmail.com University of California Berkeley
Christopher Shuttle Postdoc cshuttle0@gmail.com University of Copenhagen
Salome Veshaguri Postdoc Salome.Veshaguri@chem.ku.dk University of Copenhagen
Steven Alvarez PhD saalvarez@berkeley.edu University of California Berkeley,
Derek Britain PhD derek.Britain@ucsf.edu University of California San Francisco
Rachel Brunetti PhD rachel.Brunetti@ucsf.edu University of California San Francisco
Joey DeGrandchamp PhD jdegrand@berkeley.edu University of California Berkeley
Brian Graziano PhD brian.Graziano@ucsf.edu University of California San Francisco
Zhongwen Chen PhD chenzw@berkeley.edu University of California Berkeley
Jesper Holmkvist PhD jflh@chem.ku.dk University of Copenhagen
Eleftheria Kazepidou PhD elkazep@yahoo.com University of Copenhagen
Neil Kim PhD neilhkim@berkeley.edu University of California Berkeley
Lefteris Kosmidis PhD lefteris@chem.ku.dk University of Copenhagen
Line Lauritsen PhD line.lauritsen@nbi.ku.dk University of Copenhagen
Albert Lee, graduate student PhD albertayhlee@gmail.com Grooves Lab, University of California Berkeley
Chun-Wei Lin PhD chunweilin01@gmail.com University of California Berkeley
Jenny Lin PhD jianyijennylin@gmail.com University of California Berkeley
Darren McAffee PhD dmcaffee@berkeley.edu University of California Berkeley
Mads Peter Møller PhD mads.moeller@nano.ku.dk University of Copenhagen
Laura Nocka PhD lnocka@berkeley.edu University of California Berkeley
Mark O'Dair PhD markodair@berkeley.edu University of California Berkeley
Anne Pipathsouk PhD anne.pipathsouk@ucsf.edu University of California San Francisco
Suvrajit Saha PhD suvra17@gmail.com University of California San Francisco
Doug Tischer PhD doug.tischer@ucsf.edu University of California San Francisco
Jason Town, graduate student PhD jason.town@ucsf.edu Weiner Lab, University of California San Francisco
Kiera Wilhelm PhD wilhelmk@berkeley.edu University of California Berkeley
Tamas Nagy PhD tamas@tamasnagy.com University of California San Francisco
Michelle Berling MSc student hfk576@alumni.ku.dk University of Copenhagen
Gabriele Kockelkoren Msc student g.kockelkoren@student.tudelft.nl University of Copenhagen
Lone Mortensen Administration lone@chem.ku.dk
Phone: +45 35 32 03 00 
University of Copenhagen

GEC news

2019.05.01       
Eleftheria and Jesper start their PhD in the Stamou lab. Welcome to GEC!

2019.04.08*     
Breakthrough study on T-cell signaling published in Science. Congratulations to William!

2019.04.01       
Optogenetic control of T-cell signaling accepted in eLife. Congratulations to Doug!

2019.03.05       
Prof. Stamou visits UC Berkeley and presents at the PChem departmental seminar.

2019.03.02       
Prof. Stamou is awarded the prestigious Thomas E. Thompson award by the (American) Biophysical Society. Congratulations to Dimitrios!

2018.08.01       
Chris is starting his postdoc in the Stamou lab. Welcome to GEC!

2018.11.19       
Dr. Low-Nam from UC Berkeley visits U. Copenhagen and presents at the Department of Chemistry

2018.11.14       
Prof. Groves and Prof, Weiner visit Copenhagen and present at PANUM.

2018.10.01       
Prof. Groves visits U. Copenhagen and presents at the Maersk tower.

2018.09.01       
GEC kick-off meeting in Yosemite. 35 participants from the three labs and two invited guest speakers. Fantastic science, in a fantastic location!